post thumbnail

CA016: The 5000 Fingers of Dr T | Orange Chrome

Orange Chrome is the debut album from The 5000 Fingers of Dr T, featuring the group’s trademark upbeat, experimental and ambient electronic sound.

Formed in 1994 by Sydneysiders Jasper Russell and Adam Pierce, 5000 Fingers have become something of a regular fixture in the Sydney underground techno scene. Their musical development has taken them from their roots in funky, acidic techno through to ambient weirdass shit, along with recent interventions in junglist electronica. Featuring sparse, stripped-back compositions, Orange Chrome draws on a range of influences from the ubiquitous Sydney ‘doof’ through to Detroit grooves and Warp-style experimentalism.

Orange Chrome is the debut album from 5000 Fingers of Dr T, a dark experimental journey through metallic ambiences, schizoid funk and floating tranquilities. Orange Chrome is classic nineties electronic music with mood, substance and wit, warping funky beats and complex rhythms. The track ‘Still Of Night’ was co-produced in collaboration with Belgian composer Stephan Van Elsen.

“Seminal in defining the high quality and unique character of Sydney electronica.”
3D World

Buy album from Beatport

Track Listing

1. Mind Stretch
2. Blue Steel
3. Orange Chrome
4. Metalicosis
5. Bird Song
6. Soft and Squidgey
7. Feeding Back
8. Tip Top Electronics
9. Synthetic Groove
10. Still of Night
11. Sex in the Morning

Originally released in 1997

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.